Late last year I started an effort to have a bill passed through the Texas State Legislature to reduce Trailer Registration Fees for Qualified Disabled Veterans – I felt this was necessary to help the Disabled Veterans of Texas as a result of recent large increases in Registration Fees for trailers.
On the 27th of February, Texas Senator Kirk Watson’s office filed SB 840 to put my proposal in front of the Texas Legislature. A hearing will now need to be held and if all goes well, the new Trailer Registration Fees should be effective Sept. 1st, 2015. This bill will also provide reduced fees for Travel Trailers and water vessel (boat) registration fees for Qualified Disabled Veterans when used for personal use.
I would like to personally thank Senator Kirk Watson and his Staff for their support in this worthy effort.
I have provided a general replica of SB 840 below and the actual filed bill can be seen on the Texas Legislature website at:
By: Watson S.B. No. 840
A BILL TO BE ENTITLED
relating to watercraft and certain trailer registration fees for veterans with disabilities.
BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF TEXAS:
SECTION 1. Section 31.026, Parks and Wildlife Code, is amended by amending Subsection (a) and adding Subsection (d) to read as follows:
(a) Except as provided by Subsection (d), each [Each] application for an original or renewal certificate of number for a vessel shall be accompanied by a two-year fee determined by the following classification schedule or determined in the same classifications by the commission, whichever amount is more:
Class Description of Vessel Fee
Class A less than 16 feet in length $12
Class 1 16 feet or over and less than 26 feet in length $18
Class 2 26 feet or over and less than 40 feet in length $24
Class 3 40 feet or more in length $30
(d) The two-year fee for a vessel owned by a qualified disabled veteran as defined by Section 42.012 is $3.
SECTION 2. Section 502.254, Transportation Code, is amended by amending Subsection (a) and adding Subsection (c) to read as follows:
(a) Except as provided by Subsection (c), the [The] fee for a registration year for registration of a trailer, travel trailer, or semitrailer with a gross weight of 6,000 pounds or less is $45.00.
(c) The fee for a registration year for registration of a trailer, travel trailer, or semitrailer with a gross weight of 6,000 pounds or less is $3 if:
(1) the trailer, travel trailer, or semitrailer is owned by a veteran of the United States armed forces and the trailer, travel trailer, or semitrailer is registered for the veteran’s own use;
(2) the veteran has suffered, as a result of military service:
(A) at least a 60 percent service-connected disability; or
(B) a loss of use of a lower extremity; and
(3) the veteran receives compensation from the United States because of the disability.
SECTION 3. (a) Section 31.026, Parks and Wildlife Code, as amended by this Act, applies only to a fee charged for a vessel’s certificate of number issued or renewed on or after the effective date of this Act.
(b) Section 502.254, Transportation Code, as amended by this Act, applies only to a registration year that begins on or after the effective date of this Act.
SECTION 4. This Act takes effect September 1, 2015.